Game Player Guy’s Corner – Magic: The Gathering

I cannot call myself a gamer because I am not very good.  At any video game.  It may be inherent skill or dedication to master any particular game, but either way I just play, I enjoy and I move on.  So anything I write about video games is from the perspective of a casual player.

I play games on my PS3 and iPhone 4.  And Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook, but I don’t think that counts.

My current game of choice on the PS3 is Magic: The Gathering – Duels of the Planeswalkers.  Typing that name has made me want to stop playing the game forever.  Time for a game name that I will not get lost in the middle of and that will not result in me getting beat up walking home from school.

Names aside, I like this game because I do not have to be good at it.  I have not tried to go online and play against others, I just plug along against the computer using the decks provided.  The strategy aspect is quite interesting, but not so far reaching that I have to focus in too hard.  I can press pause every time my children demand my attention and then jump back it.

I have a brief but longstanding history with the game.  Back in the mid-90’s when the game was taking the world by storm a friend of mine got quite into it (I’m looking at you Blogmented) and taught me the ropes.  I liked playing but he could never convince me to jump in and get my own gear.

Then in late 2001 / early 2002 the first version of the online game was in beta mode and I played some more.  It was fun, but it kept assuming that I knew what I was doing and getting mad at me when I obviously did not.  Once the beta ended and it was time to pony up and pay I bailed.

So I’m back and I’m having fun.  I am not a nerd, I just like card games and strategy (sure, that’s what they all say).  If you want to play against a newbie, look me up: CertainStars

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

3 Responses to Game Player Guy’s Corner – Magic: The Gathering

  1. David says:

    Damn, Japan has some freaking amazingly complex card/video-game hybrids at their arcade. like this one: http://www.geekologie.com/2007/09/18/japanese-card-video-game.jpg

    Which is only a small fraction of the true depth.

  2. Pingback: Magic: The Gathering was Awesome, is Awesome. « Doodles MAXIMUM

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Game Player Guy’s Corner – Magic: The Gathering « One Good Minute -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

