Album Obsessions – Alabama “Roll On”

Three albums into this list and I am discovering a trend that kind of surprises me. So much of my early attraction to music is based upon emotion, as opposed to the music itself. I guess that is actually quite consistent. In my attempts earlier this year to become an amateur music critic I quickly realized my inability to go beyond the music that I connected to and analyze it more scientifically and objectively. If I don’t love the music then I just don’t have time for it.

Let me make it clear that I am in no way a fan of country music. This was an album that helped me connect with my father as we would listen and sing along in the car together. There was a time when I would agree to go to the most horribly boring (for kids) places just for the car ride.

I am going to go ahead and give some credit to the title song for my current love of the Decemberists and their story telling lyrics.

I would also like to provide this quote from Xander Harris, resident smartass from Buffy the Vampire Slayer:

I'm just gonna go home, lie down, and listen to country music. The music of pain.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

