I Grew Up On A Street Made For Kevin Smith

This post is for Kevin Smith and his penchant for witty and punny titles, and Jason Mewes who is often the focus of said titles.

It feels like this came about in not a completely random way.  A few days ago I happened to have a chance to visit the neighbourhood that I grew up in.  I walked up my street and around the park behind my old house, showing the landmarks to my slightly interested daughter.  I used my iPhone to snap a few commemorative pics.

The next day I listened to Episode 12 of Jay and Silent Bob Get Old.  Jason Mewes talks a lot about the neighbourhood he grew up in and some of the shenanigans he got up to, and while the stories in no way mirrored my own, it kept that feeling of nostalgia going for me.

Then I went back and looked at the pics I had taken and was dumbfounded that I had never before made the connection between the name of the street I grew up on and the real Jay and Silent Bob.

This is a real street

Here is another picture that I gussied up with Instagram.

I heard the jokes all through my childhood, but the name Jason Mewes brings a whole new element to it.  Kevin Smith, feel free to use this as a promotional item.  For example,

Come By Chance Mewes

How did they attach the sign to the pole?

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

