Great Mac McCaughan Moments – The Perfect Little Door

Up until 2001 I was luke-warm on Portastatic.  I liked a lot of the songs but my heart belonged to the rockin’ and rollin’ of Superchunk and the lo-fi fiddling of Portastatic just did not click with my brain.  Had I been aware of the Superchunk drought we were about to embark upon I would have been even more excited, but the writeup of The Perfect Little Door actually had me quite stoked.

I did not know who Ken Vandermark & Tim Mulvenna were, but I loved the idea of Jazzed up versions of Portastatic songs.  In addition, a Ken Vandermark song with Mac adding new lyrics was a great twist on the theme.  It was like a Lookout! Records double single, except for adults (I think I was one of those by then).

This was the first Portastatic release that I truly loved from front to back.  It is such a great space out, lose yourself kind of record.  With two songs around the eight minute mark and the other three over 5, it is lengthy for 5 songs from Portastatic, but it was/is so great to see Mac stretch out into one of his other musical loves with professionals from the genre.  Every song doesn’t sound the same and others do see the passion and  greatness in the song writing.  The Perfect Little Door is a very cool collaboration.

Look to the side bar for other articles in this series —->

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

