Dollhouse 2×01 “Vows” and 2×02 “Instinct”

The following quote from Topher in episode 2 of season 2 inspired me to this post:

The human mind is like Van Halen. If you just pull out one piece and keep replacing it, it just degenerates.

Season 2 starts with a few new and interesting trends.

Both episodes drop you into an engagement that is in progress and a scenario that seems to make no sense. I enjoyed the mystery aspect as I tried to figure out what was going on before it was revealed. Unfortunately I was not totally on board with the thread of episode 2, but both provide great setups for Echo.

2x01 - Wedding?

 

2x02 - Baby?

 

Which brings us to trend two. Echo’s mind is completely messed up and nothing is being wiped clean. Echo kind of knows what is going on and remembers all of the imprints, but each new imprint still takes over for the engagement.  She looks to be cracking at the seams but she and Ballard seem to be working together to try to bring down the Dollhouse. There is a powerful moment at the end of episode 2 where Ballard asks Echo if it is too much to take.

Ballard: If you want, I’ll tell Topher what’s going on with you and he can fix it. He’ll come up with a way to wipe you and you won’t remember a thing. You won’t have to feel sad anymore.

Echo: Feeling nothing would be worse. It would be like before – asleep. I’m awake now. I don’t want to go back to sleep.

In this recent interview with Eliza Dushku she says

It was definitely a surprise and a gift, and I felt like we got the chance to give a complete, full circle. By the end of ‘Epitaph Two: Return,’ every character and their story was wrapped up in a really beautiful way. It’s definitely special for us to be able to have closure both for our characters.

The season is off to a good start and I’m glad to hear that rather than be left with a dangling mess due to sudden cancellation there is a complete story that got to be told.

Apparently I cannot get away from writing about the Dollhouse like I thought I could. What can I say; Joss Whedon inspires me in a Superchunk kind of way.  I hope someone is happy about it.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

