Social Media Part 10: Conclusion of Round 1

It has been about 3 months since I started this blog and I would say that so far I am quite happy with the results.  I enjoy writing the articles, I have made some great connections and I am learning about the world of social media. If you are interested in social media and self promotion I encourage you to read my posts on the subject.  This series is intended to provide insight from the perspective of a newbie stumbling into the world of social media, ready to explore and learn.  Go here to see all of my previous posts.

So, what have I learned so far?  In a nutshell I believe at this point that it is about participation and interaction; making real connections with people who share similar interests.  There sure seem to be a lot of ways to create artificial traffic, but that is not going to be sustainable.  I want people to visit One Good Minute because they are interested in the content, not because of some false promise to some other end.

In terms of what I have tried so far, Twitter has been the most powerful.  To that end I intend to continue working with Twiends and try out some other Twitter tools as well (I just added myself to http://wefollow.com, for example).

Sites like StumbleUpon and Digg have potential, but they have created their own little ecosystems that must be engaged, so the time spent there would seem to be too narrow of a focus.  I am trying to create a more organic community that doesn’t rely so heavily on one particular ranking scheme or framework.

Moving into phase 2 of my social media journey, I will be looking to develop a “Blog Ring” by seeking out similar type blogs who would like to support and promote each other.  I also intend to see how I might tap into the power of Facebook.  I will also increase my participation in other forums and communities (I’ll scratch your back, and all that).  And we will just see what else comes along.

As always, I would love your feedback.  Where have been your successes and failures in trying to create an audience?  Leave a comment and I am sure to respond.

 

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

One Response to Social Media Part 10: Conclusion of Round 1

  1. Pingback: I am a bad boyfriend to Twiends « indie posit

Leave a Reply

