So Long, Hollywood Stock Exchange

I originally joined HSX in 1999 or 2000 and did what I’m sure a lot of people do:

  1. Create account
  2. Buy stocks and bonds in things I like or look cool
  3. Watch the market adjust in incomprehensible ways (why would Harrison Ford ever drop?)
  4. Realize that the HSX system is complicated to a degree that I am not willing to understand
  5. Walk away

I do not recall now what it is that brought me back to HSX, but in November of 2007 I started a new account, this time determined to figure things out.  And once again I stumbled along for a long time with mediocre success, assuming that things would reveal themselves to me in due time.

The first thing I came to get a handle on was IPOs.  The big names will get a decent bump, and then usually drop.  Most things go down a bit.  The odd “sure thing” is worth sticking with for a while.  This has been a part of my strategy to this day.

I liked the stability of the Movie Funds, which helped grow my portfolio, albeit very slowly.

Finally I decided to bite the bullet and seek out some resources.  I would say that The HSX Dude was definitely the most helpful, but there are a few others listed on the side that are decent.  Once I got a handle on the Star Bonds I was off to the races.  It has been about a year since I got a handle on that part of the game and I slowly honed my Star Bonds strategy.

Recently my portfolio hit H$100,000,000.  Apparently this was the goal I was aiming for, because as soon as I hit it my interest dropped to nothing.  I have not checked in with my HSX account for two weeks, whereas I used to stay on top of it daily.  So I’m calling it a night.  The fork has been stuck.  By no means have I mastered the game, but I got my head around it, had some success and had fun.

Good luck to the rest of you.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

