Social Media: Part 3 – Blog’s Early Days

One of the big decisions I made when starting this blog was to not announce it to my friends and family.  I did this for two reasons.  First, if I am to truly learn about blogging and self promotion it will be easier to gauge my success if I am not giving myself a “head start”.  Second, I was interested to learn who might come across One Good Minute on their own, how they might find it and how they might connect it to me.

Actually, there was a third reason.  I didn’t need my dad clogging up the comments with “great job, son”, though I do appreciate his support.

I connected the blog to my Twitter feed, because it is not something that I have used much up to that point, but kept it away from Facebook and email which I use to connect with friends and family.

Within a few posts two of my more tech-savvy friends who I was connected to through Twitter visited my blog and sent words of encouragement.  From then on it has been a battle of me vs. the Internet.

In terms Twitter and my ability to gain readership, I started with looking at followers of people who I followed (comedians and musicians mostly) and tried following them and connecting with them.  This is something I still spend time doing on a regular basis as I have had some success with this, though not in the way I expected.  The success has come from connected with people who I enjoy following and interacting with and I truly have become part of a small circle of like-minded people, which is great.  These people do visit my blog from time to time, with genuine interest.  What I have not been able to do through this method is generate any sort of significant blog traffic on a regular basis.

The lesson I learned here, though, is that I am not interested in just generating traffic.  I want One Good Minute to be something that people enjoy such that when people visit they actually stay to read something and think about coming back.

My first round of investigation into online promotion brought me to popular social sites StumbleUpon and Digg.  I set up accounts and began submitting most of my posts to these services.  As far as I have been able to tell from the statistics Digg has brought me less than 3 visits.  StumbleUpon has been a little better as each submission seems to bring 3-4 visits, but I suspect that part of that is a “bot” that is verifying the submission and pulling back a thumbnail.  I still have not decided whether or not to put the time into building up a presence in either of these forums.  Reviews of these sites indicate various hurdles to gaining traction and I suspect that putting the time in just to promote my own blog is not going to be worth the effort.

In future installments of this series I plan to look at the following topics in terms of my experience with them:

  • WordPress / Other Blogs
  • Forums
  • Triond
  • Facebook
  • Twiends
  • Technorati
  • More on Twitter
  • My Greatest Successes

Click here for previous posts.  Please stay tuned for more and drop me a comment on your own thoughts and experiences.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

