Social Media: Part 2 – The Content

I’m not sure I have too much to say about the content of my blog, as it sort of speaks for itself, but I figured I should cover my list of goals in its entirety.  The one thing I learned from my “failed” blogs is that if I’m not excited about what I am trying to write about I’m not going to bother.  So as much as a common recommendation for creating a successful blog is to find a niche or address a specific topic of interest, I had to go broad.

My topics:

  • Music – album reviews for bands I like, odd and interesting interview snippets, in-depth pieces (bordering on obsessive) for bands I really like
  • Movies – I’m not so much into the movie reviews but I love the anticipation of movies that I’m looking forward to.  My current obsession (wow, I’m already using that word so much it’s concerning) is the Avengers in 2012
  • Comic Books – Mostly where they  cross over into other domains
  • Television – Trying to go through Dollhouse and episode at a time, but can’t find the time to watch it
  • Books – See Television with regards to time
  • Podcasts – A primary source of entertainment and humour
  • Pictures – Fun and interesting things I capture with my iPhone camera – that’s life, baby!
  • Writing – I’m working on a novel, I think

So what is the model for this?  I have looked around and there are actually not a ton of “popular” sites with this sort of focus (or lack thereof).  Maybe that should be my first clue that I’m setting myself up for failure, but I choose to ignore it.  The few sites I read fairly regularly that cover a wider breadth of topics (i.e. not just movies or television or sports, etc.) are:

  • Videogum – More of a focus on “viral” type information, but the editorial style is great
  • Paste – The bulk of the site is more strictly new focused while the Blogs provide a little more editorial type content
  • Aint It Cool News – I did not initial see this as the same sort of site, I think for two reasons.  First, that they report on every little tidbit of information, which I find to be overkill and boring, and second that so much of the focus of the editorial writing is to review and/or rate, which I am also not that interested in doing.
  • The Onion – Parody fun

I want my site to be more on the irreverent side, à la Videogum, but with more of a news focus as opposed to fads and viral silliness.  Will my interests find similar minds and will my writing reel them in?

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

