Superchunk Album History – Part 2 [1993-1996]

Welcome to part 2 of my walk down Superchunk memory lane.  Part 1 can be found here.  As stated with part 1, I would love to gather thoughts and memories in the comments section.

On the Mouth [1993]

I have such a vivid memory of finding On The Mouth in a used CD store on Queen Street in Toronto. Not 10 minutes later I ran into the guy who had originally introduced me to Superchunk, someone who I had not seen in at least 3 years.

When he had played On The Mouth for me the first time my response was basically “great guitars, but the singer sounds kind of wussy”. I had recently made the jump from hard rock (Aerosmith, AC/DC) to metal (Anthrax, White Zombie) and was under the influence of Vulgar Display of Power. It only took a few months to smarten up, but I did miss Superchunk live in Toronto as penance.

Foolish [1994]

Superchunk were on Much Music (The Wedge) and it made me believe for a fleeting moment that mainstream media could appreciate good music.  This tour was my first Superchunk concert, oh happy day.

I was confused by this album at first and I was not so sure that I liked the direction it was heading in.  I remember sitting in my room listening to the CD and feeling sad that maybe my favourite band was going off the rails.  Why did everything slow down? Was the band getting old and unable to play fast? Ultimately I could not stop listening to it all summer and learned an important lesson about expanding my musical horizons and giving an album a chance to settle.  My love for Foolish is evident from the title of this blog.

Incidental Music: Singles 1991-95 [1995]

Incidental Music is a great album. Given my experience with Tossing Seeds I made sure to gain a clear understanding of which songs were covers.  This is one of those albums that I could go back to year after year and find new gems that hadn’t stood out to me previously.  Ribbon and Baxter were two of the late bloomers. On The Mouth and Shallow End are amazing tracks that should not have to live with the stigma of not making it on albums.  Throwing Things (acoustic) and 100,000 Fireflies are two of the greatest “b-sides” ever.

Here’s Where the Strings Come In [1995]

It turns out that 1995 was a huge year for me in terms of the music that I loved. A lot of the bands that I was into were releasing albums: Archers of Loaf, 13 Engines, The Flaming Lips, The Bloodhound Gang, Boss Hog, White Zombie and of course Superchunk with two.  Strings was definitely the stand-out.  The album did not leave my CD player for at least 9 months, just enough time for me to give birth to a whole new level of obsession.  To this day this remains my favourite Superchunk album.  Alas, I missed Superchunk on this tour as I was away at University.

The Laughter Guns EP [1996]

I was so excited about this EP coming out after reading about The Laughter Guns Episode, a hilarious college radio show album dissection that goes off the rails immediately as they struggle with the lyrics of Hyper Enough.  I was then totally bummed as I could not find it in any of my local record stores.  My girlfriend’s mother shocked me by driving around to find the EP and give it to me as a birthday present.  If that’s not a dowry, I don’t know what is.

Superchunk’s Thoughts

[Regarding Foolish:] Anyway, the songs seem slower and almost introspective on this album.

Mac: Yeah, I think there’s a different mood to it, and I think overall they’re slower, but there’s still some fast ones. It’s just that I think the slow ones make a bigger impression because they stand out more as compared to the last few records. I sort of felt like we were already moving in that direction with “On The Mouth” but nobody really seemed to think so besides me. A lot of the record reviews were like “Oh, it’s just another Superchunk” record, although I thought that one was starting to get a little bit different. This one’s definitely further in that direction even.

Full article can be found here.

Another Foolish Era Interview, this time with Laura

Q: Have you noticed any sort of backlash since you’ve become popular?

Laura: Oh sure. It’s not cool to like us anymore.

Q: In Chapel Hill specifically?

Laura: Everywhere, but it’s more so in Chapel Hill.

A: Is the crowd smaller or is it just that the hipster crowd isn’t there?

Laura: I don’t think we’re drawing less people, it’s the hipster crowd.

Full article can be found here.

DK: In “Detroit Has A Skyline,” what album are you referring to when you say “played track 6, track 7 again and again”?

Mac: All I remember is that it was a record I was listening to the night we got back from the Belly tour. It could have been Belly for all I know, but, more likely, it was Everything But The Girl or American Music Club.

Full article can be found here.

Some fun fact for Strings found on Wikipedia / a Facebook page

“Green Flowers, Blue Fish” was originally recorded for the Keanu Reeves movie Johnny Mnemonic.

“Hyper Enough” is also featured in the video game NCAA Football 06.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

2 Responses to Superchunk Album History – Part 2 [1993-1996]

  1. Pingback: Superchunk Album History – Part 3 [1997-2001] « One Good Minute

  2. Pingback: Superchunk Album History – Part 4 [2002-2010] « One Good Minute

Leave a Reply

