Random Music Interviews from the 90’s

I stumbled across a text file in one of my backups with some fun stuff in it.  I used to maintain a web site in the 90’s dedicated to random things about music and it had a page of fun and interesting (according to me) snippets from various band interviews.  I wish I had that site now, but all I have been able to find are the following bits that probably never made it onto the site.  I don’t know any of the sources but I do know that all of the interviews would come from 1999 or earlier.  Enjoy!

Superchunk

Jim:  In the studio you’re making a record, and when you’re playing it live, there’s no point trying to recreate that same
thing, they’re just two different things. When I go to see a band and they sound like the record, I think: “Why didn’t I stay at home and listen to the record?
Jim:  It’s completely naive to think that a record label has any kind of input on good music. All they do is they make it
available, but it doesn’t get created by record labels. Record labels are just throwing everything they can get their hands on at a wall, and whatever sticks they claim responsibility for. But all they are are pitchers. Throw it at the wall. They’re trying to make money. And who isn’t? But that’s all they’re trying to do.

Pavement

John:  So how did you guys get your name?

Bob:  It’s on the list of the most pleasant words in the English language.

Mr. T Experience

(assuming this is Joel Reader, former bass player, answering)

Q:  When did the band form and why?

The band formed in 1986. Actually, I wasn’t there since I just joined the band about a year and a half ago. But I can guess the reason they formed it is about the same as the reason I joined it: to improve the overall moral character of humanity through the spiritual strength embodies in our music. No, really we’re just trying to relieve the boredom of our daily lives by jumping around in front of lots of people and making loud noises.  Surprisingly enough it actually seems to work.

Q:  Why Mr. T Experience?

Again, I wasn’t there when they named it, but Frank always says that at the time there were Mr. T TV shows, cartoons, breakfast cereals, underwear, toys, etc. He just thought there should be a Mr. T punk rock band, too.

Q:  Did Mr. T object at all?

As far as we know, Mr. T, like most of the world, is blissfully unaware of our existence.


Weeping Tile

Sarah Harmer says it’s good to back in Canada: “It’s not as scary, there’s not as many people packing guns up here.”

Body Count

Ice T’s metal-rap band’s latest album is a venomous and often hilarious rockin’ roller-coaster ride riddled with violence, sex, lots of cursing and buckets of angry bile.

Causing controversy is possibly the only way the creators of Cop Killer can sell any albums.  But do you think I’m going to slag this? The album opens with Ice T shooting a rock critic.  So, um … good work, Mr. T.

White Zombie

Raised in Massachusetts by salesperson Louise and upholsterer Bob Cummings, Rob sneers at punk kids in Doc Marten boots mooching cigarettes.

“I always thought that was totally degrading, asking for change and stuff,” he says. “I always had this ‘do your shit, make it happen, fuck everybody’ attitude. I always thought it was truly bizarre to say fuck society and not get a job, then ask for change from somebody who did get one.”


About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

