Superchunk Secrets Revealed – Just What Are We To Be Skipping?

Reading this short and sweet interview with Laura Ballance of Superchunk you will find a few fun facts about classic albums No Pocky for Kitty and On The Mouth, which have recently been reissued.  But the standout insight comes midway through the article:

Do you have a favorite song on the album?
Probably “Skip Steps 1 and 3″ because the lyrics bring back a lot of memories from the tour leading up to the album. By the way, step one is talking about doing something, step two is doing it, and step three is talking about what you just did.

This is HUGE (at least, to me it is).  An actual bit of knowledge about a Superchunk song is a rare find as the bands approach is very much the “it is what you want it to be” motto of Pretty Woman.

So here are the actual song lyrics for the chorus:

Hit the gas straight on

Go through the lights

Go through the trees

Skip steps 1 and 3

Skip steps 1 and 3

My logical analysis of this song all these years was always that the chorus was telling me to just “go through the lights”, even though I knew it did not make much sense.  None of the other lyrics lend themselves to the idea of a list in which you would skip steps 1 and 3.

So now we find that the true meaning of the song is to just do it.  I love it.  Tom Scharpling loves it.  Henry Rollins loves it.

Now I’m off to listen to No Pocky for Kitty, and probably the rest of the albums for the rest of the day.

Happy Superchunk Day!!

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

2 Responses to Superchunk Secrets Revealed – Just What Are We To Be Skipping?

  1. davechen says:

    Did you get the reissued versions of No Pocky For Kitty and On The Mouth? If so how do they sound? Are they noticeably better?

    Being the fanboy that I am, I’m going to order them regardless, but I’m just curious.

    • I have listened to the free Skip Steps 1&3 download, but have not ordered them yet. Definitely an improvement, so I can’t wait to here CD quality. I plan to order them soon.

Leave a Reply

