Date Night + District 9 = Fun!!

A rare occurrence in my life happened this weekend.  I got to watch 2 movies!  And they were both really good!!

I’m not much for movie reviews, but her are a few tidbits on what I enjoyed.

I had kind of low expectations on this one, given all the inconsistent reviews.  My wife and I really enjoyed all the “parental humour” which gave a unique flavour to what could have been a pretty standard wacky date movie.  It was nicely peppered in there without taking over focus.  Steve Carell and Tina Fey were both great, being very funny but not over playing the characters.  Way more enjoyable than Hot Tub Time Machine.

It took me a while to get to this as I was waiting for its turn on my Ziplist.  I was not totally excited when I put this in last night, simply because I have been waiting so long to watch this and hearing so much in the mean time, it was almost as if I had already experienced it.  I really, really enjoyed this movie.  It is by no means perfect, but it is so nice to watch a solid, inventive movie that is not overrun with Hollywood.  You can make a great movie without a famous American actor pretending to be something else.  Refreshing and fun.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

