Back to the Books

Over the past 4 years I helped to bring two children into the world and in the process somehow lost the ability to finish reading a book.  I have rededicated myself to reading at the same time that I am diving back into writing.  Words words words.

My reading rebirth has been inspired by starting and finishing reading Our Noise: The Story of Merge Records (within the same season).  I really enjoyed this book, not only because I’m a big fan of most of the featured artists, but there really are a lot of great stories of the artistic struggle, ending both in success and not-so-much success, all under the arc of the success of Merge Records.

So now I am faced with the pile of books that I started and never finished, my goal being to finish them.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I made it almost to the end of this.  Literally, just a few pages shy.  I’m a big Gaiman fan but this one dragged in parts.  I don’t actually know where the book went so maybe I’ll swing by Chapters and skim through the end, just for completeness.

Andromeda Klein by Frank Portman

I quite liked Frank’s first book, King Dork, and got about a third of the way into this one.  I’m enjoying the story but the level of detail regarding Tarot cards and related mysticism keeps disengaging my brain.

The Gum Thief by Douglas Coupland

Douglas Coupland is a great writer and a great Canadian.  This is the one I have dived back into (actually starting from page 1 for the third time).  I’m am immediately pulled into the two main characters, and of course the writing.  By the way,  if you are Canadian (and even if you are not, but especially if you are) you should watch Souvenir of Canada.

The 39 Clues Book 1: Maze of Bones by Rick Riodan

My wife bought me the first two books (yes, I know, it is a children’s series….so is Harry Potter!) because the second one is written by Gordan Korman and because of the intriguing interactive nature of the series.  Apparently real people are winning real prized for figuring out mysteries.  I can’t wait to see what this is all about as it seems a very creative way to engage kids and I know I would have loved it when I was young, but I need to do a little grown up reading first.

So that is my immediate list.  On top of that I have at least 10 books that have been given to me as presents that I feel guilty for not having read yet as well as a stack that my wife has read and is recommending to me.  Now I’m thinking that I should have been reading instead of writing this post…

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

