Ultimate Spider-man Series Good?

I’m a little late to the game on this announcement, but I was on vacation.  Ultimate Spider-man is being turned into an animated series.

I have mixed feelings about this.  As a huge Spider-man fan my initial thought is that more Spider-man is always good.  This blog has a great summary of Spider-man’s media history.

As for comic books, Ultimate Spider-man was the most successful, quality re-imagining of an A-List superhero since Frank Miller altered the course of Batman with The Dark Knight Returns.  There were no drastic changes to the Spider-man lore but the modern day setting and the amazing writing just made everything feel fresh.  The early foibles of Peter Parker / Spider-man in which he continually is being unmasked by bad guys was brilliant.

Giving further validation to this amazing series that spawned an entire “Ultimate Universe” is great, and the team they have on board (including original writer Brian Michael Bendis) is great.  So why the uncertainty?

Well, first off there is the movie reboot that is already being planned.  Too soon, I dare say.  So rolling out an animated series in roughly the same time frame is potential overload and could dilute the effectiveness of both.  But more than that, I question what benefit the animated series can bring to Ultimate Spider-man.  The comic book artwork and story lines are amazing.  Animating what has already been done will look cool, but is that enough to sustain a whole series?

I just hope they have new stories to tell, because look what they did to the Ultimates series in the two straight to DVD movies.  The watering down of material turned it from an amazing story to a silly romp.  We have the Super Hero Squad now, so no need to dumb it down for the kids.  So I worry that the same will be done in this case.

Of course, I don’t have to watch it…but I want to.  So here’s hoping for the best, not just for me, but for the sake of my children because, hey, don’t they deserve quality too?

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

Leave a Reply

