Building Inspiration

Sometimes you are inspired and you don’t even know it. There’s a neighbour of mine…I wouldn’t quite call him a friend but I think he will be soon. Our interests are very different but our sensibilities are very much the same.

For many years “K” has flipped houses in his “spare time” (full time job, wife, two young kids, dog, life).  He does it to make some extra money but he mostly does it because he loves to do it.

Last time we got together he was talking about buying equipment he could rent out to children’s parties and also taking a job putting up real estate signs. Sounded like a big waste of time to me at first. But from his perspective he was trying to find reasonable supplements to his income that would allow him to quit his current job and do what he loved full time.  With flipping houses and enough things on the side he could make the income he needs and spend much more time doing what he loves.

I can’t think of a more admirable approach to life. If you have children you immediately make sacrifices, but most people look at their job as part of that sacrifice. Few people can say that their job is what they dreamed of when they were younger but you do what you need to do to make the rest of your life work.

I think there are also not many people willing to sacrifice one aspect of their work for the rewards of another. I find this surprising considering how easily people seem willing to sacrifice family for work.

So “K”, you are an inspiration to me (could I ever admit that in person?).  Everything in life needs to be in balance, and there is no reason to ever stop looking for the best balance possible. And within that balance include as many things that you love as possible.  I want to write but I don’t want to quite my job to give it a shot and in the process sacrifice the things I can do for my children.  So I will carve out little pieces of the day that don’t mean as much.  Less time with video games, going out for lunch, watching crappy television or Facebook.  When you find the right balance I don’t think it really even feels like a sacrifice.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

2 Responses to Building Inspiration

  1. Love this story. I agree that many give up what they want in life, since they see it as a struggle, or not sure how to move forward. I also work on “side jobs” in order to find the right mix in life, where I can do what I love and still find time to spend time in other areas of my life that are important to me, such as family, spiritual practices, gardening.

  2. Excellent post and sentiment. Tim Ferris calls this “Lifestyle Design” where your path is not about the career you want for yourself, but the lifestyle you want and how you achieve it. Check out his book “The 4 hour workweek” and the blog of the same name.

    The sentence that stuck with me the most from the book is “Reality is negotiable”.

Leave a Reply

