Need to Write

This blog is all about writing.  I need to write and I’m just not finding the ability to sit down and crank out one of the many novels in my head (silly job/family getting in the way).  I have struggled for a long time with trying to find an outlet.

I listened to a podcast interview with Tom Scharpling a few months ago – I can’t remember exactly with whom but I think it was this episode of Comedy and Everything Else (Paul F. Tompkins was also on).  On the topic of being a writer Tom said that when he decided he wanted to do it for a living he just started writing everything he could.  Regardless of topic, style, purpose, whatever – just keep writing.  He submitted to every place imaginable and eventually started getting jobs.

This advice has really hit home with me.  It is much more useful than the advice I got out of Stephen King’s On Writing, which was to lock yourself in a room for 8 hours a day for months on end.  Cocaine optional.  This is a very romantic notion, but I have a job and a family so I can’t just drop everything and start trying to be a full time writer or novelist.

So I’m going with Tom’s advice and I’m just going to write whatever stuff comes up.  I’m using this blog as my creative outlet.  I will write in short spurts about simple things and so far it is making me happy.  If that opens up the gates for more, great.

Thanks Tom!!

Paste Magazine has a great list of writing resources today.  I’m definitely going to check these out.

About OneGoodMinute
Blogging about the fun and interesting things in life. Nerd stuff - movies, music, comedy, podcasts Social Media - Documenting my way through social media, blogging and online promotion. Learn from my experiences, mistakes and successes.

3 Responses to Need to Write

  1. amkuska says:

    Woohoo! Good luck! I look forward to seeing the many things you come up with.

  2. kerry622 says:

    The best advice I ever got when I started writing was to create one character (no plot no story)just listen to them talk in your head. They will begin to materialize and from their speech patterns will form their appearance(tall, short, lanky, broad) and all of a sudden your brain is going to want to put this person up against something, (Conflict,) and test them, and viola! A story of someone you know really well and care about which comes across the pages begins. Hope that helps it did me and now I have my own book coming out this year (Soul Mates. Good Luck!

  3. Wow, thanks for the feedback. Character is something I always struggle with. My ideas always start with plot and story lines. I have come to recognize, however, that the best writing is character driven, so I’ve been trying to work on that.

Leave a Reply

